Weird and Good.

Well, summer is over and all of my friends are gone. I’ve cried more than I thought was humanly possible, and eaten five times my weight in Ben and Jerry’s. I know, I know, poor me. I promise that this blog won’t be me complaining the whole time, but I’ll try to be as honest as possible about the many emotions that I’m feeling/will feel this upcoming year. Also I’m just going to come out and say it, I curse a lot and my sailor mouth will most likely be transferred into this blog…You’ve been warned 🙂

If you didn’t know already, I’m taking a gap year with the program, Thinking Beyond Borders (TBB).  Their philosophy is, “meaningful learning comes from engaging with real issues affecting real people in the real world.” The main focus is promoting positive social change in the world. On September 12th, I’ll be heading to Ghana for 8 weeks. Then onto Thailand, Cambodia, Ecuador, Peru, and Washington D.C. These next 7 months will be the most intense of my life but I’m so ready.

High School didn’t do much for me. I never found the classes super inspiring, and besides a few special people (Hi Mrs. Houle and Mrs. Champigny!), my teachers didn’t motivate me or capture my attention as I had hoped. I knew I wanted to take a gap year in 10th grade. I couldn’t possibly imagine going into another four years of school right away. I looked up “gap year programs” and the first hit I got was for TBB. I clicked on their website and immediately knew this was my path. After I got into the program everything seemed to fall into place. I am SO excited to start this insane journey. I’ll hopefully be able to keep up with these blog posts but no promises considering the whole “no technology” thing. I won’t have a phone, but feel free to email me at tessaenglander@gmail.com.

My heart hasn’t stopped pounding since 3 days ago when it really hit me that I need to fit my entire life for the next 7 months into 2 backpacks. Anyone who knows me knows that even if I’m going somewhere for a weekend I bring atleast 1 suitcase and then 3 or more carry on bags. This is my first challenge, and I’m sure there will be many many more. And guess what? I CAN’T WAIT!! Everyone asks how I’m feeling about this trip. My response is simple. Weird and good. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Weird and Good.

  1. Hi Wonderful Tessa. I loved what you wrote and we are very excited that you have this oportunity to explore parts of our world. Can’t wait to hear how your journey is going. You leave in about a week which feels like yesterday. Pop and I were so happy to get to see you this past weekend and be able to wish you an amazing 7 months. We love you to infinity and beyond ! xoxoxox’s GiGi and Pop

    Like

  2. Omg I am so excited and nervous at the same time. You are an amazing person and I can’t wait to read about all your adventures. You’ll be in my thoughts and prayers Tessa. Sure do love you!! Be safe ❤️

    Like

  3. You go girl! I will be listening and reading everything that you put up. I am beyond thrilled for you. (and a little jealous about Ghana..)

    Like

  4. Hi Tessa,
    So glad you have arrived in Ghana!!!
    Love you so much and miss you already but know this will give you a lifetime of wonderful memories. Can’t5 wait to read your updates! 🙂
    xoxox’s, GiGi

    Like

Leave a Reply

